Critical Food Safety in Ottawa

I’ve recently started following @restowatch on twitter, after noting a few retweets from @roneade

There are lots of places that you would sort of “expect” to maybe have food safety issues, not to name any but you can check out the list and I’m sure you’ll feel the same way. This doesn’t really bother me, because if I eat at a greasy spoon I don’t expect everything to be spic & span. I’m a big fan of “if it doesn’t kill you it only makes you stronger” especially when it comes to germs. I like to wash my hands a lot, but you won’t catch me using Purell unless I’m in the jungle (and I’m not talking the urban jungle) and I really do believe the reason so many kids have crazy allergies and are sick all the time is because of helicopter parents lysol-ing everything in sight, and not breastfeeding, but that is another story. Then again I don’t ride the bus – that is a germ-fest, so maybe that’s why I don’t get as sick as often (knock on wood) but I’m going to go on believing it’s because my parents let me eat mud (I kid)

back to the point

Restaurants of interest with Critical Food Safety issues: (places that took me a bit by surprise)

STELLA OSTERIA (81 CLARENCE ST) was found with a critical Food Safety deficiency on Sep. 21

MANX PUB (370 ELGIN ST.) was found with a critical Food Safety deficiency on Sep. 15
– Love this place 😦

THE STANDARD (360 ELGIN STREET) was found with a critical Food Safety deficiency on Sep. 14
– Hate this place, but I love the breakfast mimosas, but be prepared for slow service

107 FOURTH AVENUE (107 FOURTH AVENUE) was found with a critical Food Safety deficiency on Sep. 17
– Love to hate this place (only because they love to hate PEC wines, and for a WINE bar the servers seem to lack wine knowledge)

107 Fourth Avenue Wine Bar on Urbanspoon

The Manx on Urbanspoon

Standard Tavern on Urbanspoon

Stella Osteria on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

