TD Canada Trust

Feb 9
I stopped by Branch 3344 on Wellington at Holland in Ottawa yesterday evening regarding some mail that I have been receiving and returning to sender for over a year and a half. The teller indicated that there was nothing that she could do about it because she can’t change the account.

She told me to contact Canada post. I told her I have been returning it to sender, which is TD, for over a year already. She said that’s all I can do. I asked her what the point of returning it to sender if neither TD nor Canada Post will do anything about it. Why wouldn’t I just throw it in the garbage. She said because that is illegal.

I called Canada post and they informed me that they are obligated to send the mail if it has my address on it, that I should contact TD…

So I called TD this morning (Feb 10) and the gentleman I talked to told me that it was no problem, that he would put a note on the account. It took all of 2 minutes.

Why was this teller so rude and why did she tell me false information when she didn’t even know the process or the answer?

Why has TD not taken steps to put a note on his account before this moment, when I have been returning the mail to sender for over an year?

This is regarding the account of

Brian A Crook
Do you know him? TD is looking for him.

I sent TD an email this morning. I wonder if they’ll ever get back to me. I didn’t bother emailing Canada Post, last time I did that (over a year ago) I never got a reply, but TD has
a commitment to keep:

Confirmation number: XXXXXXXXXXxxxxxxxxxx

Thank you for your e-mail. We will be addressing your inquiries and will respond to you shortly.

I’m also returning another letter to them, with a note:

Update: Feb 14

TD emailed me back with a lengthly response. Nothing about how their teller was rude and unhelpful. They suggested I go to a TD Branch and ask at customer service to speak to a branch manager. They specifically suggested “not speaking with a teller.” (I wonder if that is because of the lack of common sense and or training of their tellers?)

They completely contradicted what I was told on the phone, basically saying that even if there is a note on his file, nothing will change until he contacts them. great.

I did exactly as directed and the lady at customer service asked why I wanted to speak to a branch manager. I gave her a summary of my adventures and she said she would fix it (heard that before).

Then she OPENED his mail! Then she CHANGED his address!! All things that I was specifically told could not happen

So I took the liberty to look at his mail and it turns out that all this is over a mere 14$! and that the account is closed! Brian Crook probably doesn’t even know that he owes TD that money. It’s probably all interest anyways.

Now I just have to wait and see if anything will actually change.

4 Comments »

  1. Oh man what a nightmare!!

    I like your extra note on the bill LOL. Hopefully they get the hint now.

  2. Shonna Said:

    What makes you think you can change someones mailing address. How would you feel if someone took your mail to the bank and asked them to change it on your behalf and the bank complied. You’d be furious.

    Think about it.

    • Ready Said:

      I have ID stating that it is MY mailing address, not theirs. So not just anyone could change my address. I went to TD customer service at a different bank and they changed it for me.

      Trust me, I’ve had plenty of time to think about this, every single time I keep getting his mail, while I was on the phone with Canada post and with the TD branch teller, with TD bank on the phone, while I was writing this post. I really don’t think someone would go to all that effort to change my mailing address. And they wouldn’t have ID with my address on it, proving it’s mine not theirs

  3. kelly Said:

    sidney bc branch has taken up until today 6wks to transfer arrsp from ontario to bc @branch in sidney excuses lost will follow up not heard from called again calls not returned .i checked with other compaqny cheq issued & sent tp td over amo ago…bransh now claims lost in mail ..after i left messages no calls back ……time to take further action.. media &legal …hope that will bring some succes…..meanwhile out 10 t plus$ dont deal with co especially sidney bc branch


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

